Three (good) books about loss

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in Italiano

Losing a parent, a friend of someone we love is always hard and painful to accept: everybody has his own way to deal with the loss.
Keeping on reading you will find the reviews of three books (2 novels and a graphic novel) dealing this topic without being banal, every one of them with a particular narrative and expressive way.

The novels:
“Tell the wolves I’m home” di Carol Rifka Brunt
“A monster calls” di Patrick Ness

The graphic novel:
“I kill giants” by Joe Kelly

Tell the wolves I’m home by Carol Rifka Brunt

“Tell the wolves I’m home” is about wanting to possess every instant of the loved one life, the fact that this is impossible since we have to share that life with other people and how memories are the only things left when we are left alone.

A monster calls by Patrick Ness

Conor has a hard life: his mother is ill and under chemotherapy, his father has a new family in America and his school is divided between the sympathetic and the bully ones; moreover Conor at 12.07 meets everyday the monster.
The monster will be a narrator and listen to Conor story, but he will require the truth to be told.
A beautiful novel about hard themes as illness and loss in an unconventional, emphatic and engaging way.

Here some of the illustrations.

I kill giants by Joe Kelly

Reading the title and the first pages I expected another kind of story, the one I found here however exceeded my expectations.
Barbara introduce herself as a giant killer, other people instead see her appearance: a quite strange children.
Giants in Barbara life exist and she will have to face them sooner or later.
“I kill Giants” is a very well written story that deals with difficult topics without banality, I suggest to read it.

_______

* Tell the wolves I’m home by Carol Rifka Brunt ★★★★★
* A monster calls
by Patrick Ness ★★★★☆½
* I kill giants
by Joe Kelly ★★★★★

*I read this book in English

Leave a Reply

