4 graphic novels I did not like

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in Italiano

It’s easy to find out that I love comics and graphic novels as much I love novels, however not all the one I read are actually enjoyable works; in the following there are the reviews of 4 graphic novels I did not like much – completely uncorrelated – because of plot or graphics or contents.

The volumes are:

  • [ARC] Will O’ the Wisp by Tom Hammock
  • Anya’s ghost by Vera Brosgol
  • Raccolta 1992/2012 by Alessandro Baronciani
  • Neonomicon by Alan Moore

[ARC] Will O’ the Wisp by Tom Hammock

Aurora, after the death of her parents, goes to live with her grandfather. In the new town, near the swamp, paranormal events take place and people start disappearing; Aurora will try to seek out the reason of it with the help of some townsfolk.

I did not particularly like this graphic novel: first of all I found the drawings quite rough, instead, concerning the plot, there are some unlikely events, above all Aurora ease in accepting her new life and the magical rites to keep away spirits.

Thanks to the publisher for providing me the copy necessary to write this review.

Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

Anya, a non completely integrated student due to her Russian origin, discovers in a hole a skeleton and the corresponding ghost.
The plot is roughly delineated, the characters not well depicted, the ending and the moral easily foreseen.

Raccolta 1992/2012 di Alessandro Baronciani

I did not know about this author before reading this collection of stories, and maybe if I knew better about his work I could have appreciate better the book.
Overall I liked some stories, but maybe a complete and linear book could have been better suited for me.

Neonomicon by Alan Moore

The story begins with a federal investigation on identical homicides done by different people to recall various Lovecraft elements.
I did not particularly liked this sort of retelling, mainly because of the various violent components that I find difficult to associate to Lovecraft myths.
The story however is fluid despite the combination of format – lettering which tires the reading.

_______

* Will O’ the Wisp by Tom Hammock ★★☆☆☆
** Anya’s ghost by Vera Brosgol ★★☆☆☆
** Raccolta 1992/2012 by Alessandro Baronciani ★★☆☆☆
** Neonomicon by Alan Moore ★★☆☆☆

*I read this book in English
**I read this book in Italian

Leave a Reply

