Love Is the Higher Law by David Levithan

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in Italiano

This is the second novel read for the March YA Reading Group, main thematic Diversity: LGBT (the other novel is Between Mom and Jo).
The first impression is that this novel does not fit completely with this theme, in fact the main issue – and its the emotional thread – is about what happened on September 11, 2001.

Claire, Jasper and Peter are three young adults that live the New York tragedy in different ways; the novel follows their thoughts and emotions during, after and one year later the event. They barely know each other at the beginning but they will find some common emotions triggered by the World Trade Center disruption becoming friends.

Some days ago I finished reading some essays by Wallace (Consider the lobster), in particular one focused on this topic that was able to engage and emotion me way more than this entire novel.

Short OT not concerning the novel but some of my television choices: when Claire says that she wants to breathe the post-event air for a king of empathy to the deaths I recalled “My Strange Addiction” – the one about the woman obsessed about eating her dead husband ashes. The unavoidable consequence is the fact that Clair statement did not convey me what it should, at all.
In my defence for this creepy tv choices I guarantee my total inability to follow this show for more than 5 minutes for revulsion, horror and vague uneasiness it causes me.

_______

* Love Is the Higher Law by David Levithan – ★★★☆☆

*I read this book in English

Leave a Reply

