[ARC] Mark Twain & Cozy Classic

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in Italiano

All modern American literature comes from one book by Mark Twain called ‘Huckleberry Finn.’ If you read it you must stop where the Nigger Jim is stolen from the boys. That is the real end. The rest is just cheating. But it’s the best book we’ve had. All American writing comes from that. There was nothing before. There has been nothing as good since.

E. Hemingway

When I can ask Cozy Classic arcs (advanced reading copy) I don’t wait to ask them, and I never am disappointed by them (here a couple of Cozy read some time ago).

How they work? About ten pages long, on the left a word to summarize a key scene of a novel and on the right an image about that scene made with some little dolls.

Why they work? Because the authors are able to reduce complex novels in about ten key ideas the reader is able to place in the original novel.
This time I read the Cozy version of Tom Sawyer (I read also the whole novel and keeping on reading there is my comment about it) and of Huckleberry Finn, below my opinions about them.

 

The adventure of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

I honestly expected a more linear narration, the novel instead is constructed using various episodes of Tom and his friends lives; the only recurrent episode is the one about the killing and the treasure hunt.
Since the book was written in the 1885 reading it in English was not easy; I should also have appreciated more the plot if I’ve read it as a child.
Nevertheless I’ve liked a lot the sociological aspects: the way of dressing, the habits and the social interactions (the Sunday school etc…)

Cozy Classics: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Jack & Holman Wang

Cozy Classics: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Jack & Holman Wang

Among the two Cozy Classic I know better the story of Tom Sawyer, since I read it recently; as always the authors of these small books have reached the point being able to summarize in twelve concepts (word plus image) a whole novel full of adventures and carefreeness – clearly they have inserted also one of the most famous scene, the painting of the fence.

About Huckleberry Finn instead I know the plot in more vaguely, and I will probably have to repair if it’s true what Hemingway says about this novel.

In the two small books the two characters are well recognizable, so young readers can’t mix them up.

The Cozy Classic are books that an adult reader likes if he knows the novel, but I believe they could be incentive youngest reader to approach classic novels.

Thanks to the publisher for providing me the copy necessary to write this review.

_______

* The adventure of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain ★★★½
* Cozy Classics: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
by Jack & Holman Wang ★★★
* Cozy Classics: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
 by Jack & Holman Wang ★★★

*I read this book in English

Leave a Reply

