Persuasion by Jane Austen

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in Italiano

I have authors and novels impossible to comment on, for example The lord of the rings and Jane Austen (or at least Pride and Prejudice). This is a completely personal issue, I honestly think I’m unworthy to analyze and carelessly talk about great and wonderful works (see Tolkien) and/or novel I love unconditionally.

In the case of Jane Austen novels I end in comparing them to Pride and Prejudice, and this was also the fate of Persuasion. I skip over the plot details, if interest there is a detailed Wikipedia page, since I only want to express a brief opinion.

Coming to my judgment meter I have to say that I liked Persuasion less than Pride and Prejudice: in Persuasion we have a main character, Anne, more adult than Lizzy, more reserved and suited for her social context.

As Elizabeth allows herself in not being always polite, ironical but also sometimes naive, Anne is moderate, willing in follow advises (risking her own happiness by doing so) and able in being suspicious. Overall the novel is very well-built, the characters are – as always – extremely well depicted in their pettiness, but personally I like better a more reckless main character than one so yielding to end up losing her chance of being happy.

_______

* Persuasion by Jane Austen ★★★

*I read this book in English

Leave a Reply

