Magic Realism

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in Italiano

This month the  YA group is about the exploration of the “magic realism” genre, so these books where magical elements (or folklore or supernatural ones, etc..) are contextualized in the real life without issues about their nature or origin.

In this sense – without being conscious – I read some stories by Kelly Link (books I do not feel about advising, too much inconsistent for me), but the reading group gave me the chance to know new authors and wonderful books – and to discover that loved classic writer also belong to this category.

The books falling into this category fascinate me (exceptions excluded) for the dream-like atmospheres they describe, the real with something strange to make it special.

Some of my previous comments are about this genre, the amazing The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter (I will read more from her, oh yeah), Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge (I think it falls in the category), and other will come, like The Girl in the Flammable Skirt by Aimee Bender and Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi.

Leave a Reply

