Am I Normal Yet? (The Normal Series #1) by Holly Bourne

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in Italiano

Am I Normal Yet? opens the Normal Series by Holly Bourne, a trilogy where each novel has as protagonist a different girl of a group of three friends. This novel main character is Evie, who is come back in her “normal” life after being hospitalized for OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder).

The story is told by Evie’s POV, and in the story we also meet Amber and Lottie, who will be protagonists in the following two books. The reader has not only access to the events, but also to Evie’s way of thinking, always fighting her disease and the bad thoughts it generates.

The author is well able to communicate to the reader what OCD actually means, and that is wrong to minimize it; I liked the story and I think it works from the emotional point of view.

During the story the three girls begin reasoning about feminism, and deepening some specific themes; I also liked these parts; I usually like structured infodump and I’m always eager to learn something new and unexpected; however I think the feminism background of the whole novel is quite excessive, since there is not a male character who is at least decent, and in the end I think it is a fault in the story.

_______

* Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne ★★★★

*I read this book in English

Leave a Reply

