When you were mine by Rebecca Serle

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in italiano


When you were mine is a retelling of Romeo and Juliet, but the story is told by Rosaline, the girl Romeo was fond of, before meeting Juliet at the ball.

The novel is set in California, Rose (Rosaline Caplet), is in love with her best friend, Rob Monteg who – following the script – will leave her for Juliet Caplet, Rose’s cousin.

The names are explicit reminds of the orignal story, a choice I always find somewhat sad, and the novel fells completely into the contemporary YA genre. There is no originality, and the characters are flat and they do not communicate emotions.

It’s a short book, easy to read, but I was bored; moreover it’s one of these books full with exclamation marks, a thing I tend to notice and that I do not like.


* When you were mine by Rebecca Serle ★☆☆☆☆

*I read this book in italian

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.