The Hanged Man of Saint-Pholien by Georges Simenon

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in italiano


Because of a yearly reading challenge, I ended up reading a crime novel by Simenon. Years ago I read a couple of novel by this author, but I was not satisfied, mainly due to the fact that my idea of crime novel was a clue driven one (like Agatha Christie’s), where the reader can act as the investigator.

Simenon’s crime books are not like that: the reader is unable to understand the solution before the ending, they are novel where the setting is extremely well described, and where emotions play a role too, both for the investigator and for the other characters.

For these reasons I liked reading The Hanged Man of Saint-Pholien: the crime plot begins almost by change, because of the change of two suitcases, and Maigret has to deal with an evident suicide case, that however presents some strange elements, like the constant presence of Joseph Van Damme, who declare he does not know the dead man.

Maigret to unravel the case has to travel between Paris, Rheims, Bremen e Liege. It’s better I say no more, not to spoil the reading, but for sure I will read again the novels by Simenon I own and I will read more.


* The Hanged man of Saint-Pholien by Georges Simenon ★★★★☆

*I read this book in italian

Leave a Reply

