[ARC] Object lessons: Egg and Earth

Standard

Leggi questo articolo in italiano


The Object Lesson series is quite fascinating, and the cover are minimal and beautiful. My expectation this time were not satisfied, but I understand that the structure of the book depends hugely on the author’s writing style.

Egg by Nicole Walker

Various cultures have creation myths based on the image of the egg, and also for this reason the author mostly speaks of eggs in terms of fertility and creation of new lives: the cover makes us think about chicken eggs, but egg of any dimension aim in creating new lives. From this themes the absence of creation follows, and the author shares personal experience about this topic.

Honestly I hoped more in real eggs, with respect to metaphorical ones, and the result is quite different from what I expected about this book.

Thanks to the publisher for providing me the copy necessary to write this review.

Earth by Jeffrey Jerome Cohen, Linda T Elkins-Tanton

I expected Earth to be a scientific book / essay, it actually is more a philosophical reflection about the relation between Earth and its inhabitants, expressed mostly as a epistolary exchange.

I did not find it engaging, I would have preferred a different structure / content.

Thanks to the publisher for providing me the copy necessary to write this review. 


* Egg by Nicole Walker ★★☆☆☆½
* Earth by Jeffrey Jerome Cohen, Linda T Elkins-Tanton ★★☆☆☆½

*I read this book in english

Leave a Reply

